Wen . . . The controversy

By now you might have heard that this “holy grail” status hair product is in the news for making peoples’ hair fall out.  Yes, I said it – FALL OUT!!! They went from something being the most luxurious and gentle to making your hair fall out.

20151215_185228_resized

Wen was created in 2008 by the Los Angeles celebrity hair stylist Chaz Dean. Chaz was a high profile stylist LONG before he put the product out. This in turn gave credibility to the product.  He has celebrity spokespeople like Alyssa Milano, Angie Harmon and Brooke Shields that are also faces of the product.

The foundation of the brand is that his products do not contain any of the damaging elements that are found in most shampoos.  His products are cleansing conditioners and therefore, more gentle to the hair.  One product replaces shampoo, conditioner and deep conditioner without lather and sulfates.

20151215_185232_resized

Almost 200 people from 40 different states have come forth to say that the product made their hair fall out. The attorney representing them in the class action lawsuit said that using Wen is “like using lotion to wash your hair, so instead of removing the products, when you rinse it off, it just becomes impacted in your hair follicle.”

20151215_185247_resized

The first person that got the ball rolling in the lawsuit was Tanya Norman. She said that after 6 months of using the product, she noticed multiple bald spots.  She went online to do research and found out that she was not alone.  She is now using a topical medicine and cortisone injections in the bald spots.  She said that her hair IS regrowing but it’s very fine and brittle.

The scary thing for me is that I was literally watching an infomercial for this product 2 or 3 days before the story broke.  I was thinking about getting some because during the holidays, they have bundles and larger sizes that you would not be able to get normally.  I did not make a purchase because I still had Christmas shopping to do. Don’t judge me, I know am late and sad because I’m still shopping!!!!!!!

With the continuing upsurge of the natural hair movement Wen has caught the eye of many Naturalistas.  People with naturally curly hair have been flooding the stores and internet looking for products free of sulfates, parabens and other ingredients harmful to our delicate hair.

So what is the company’s response?  I must say that 10 million units sold and 200 had problems reflects a tiny amount of people having issues with the product.  So you can argue that when you look at the numbers on paper, that is still a reflection of a great product that works for most people.  What you see below is the statement given to the Nightly News:

20151215_185325_resized

Have you or someone you know used Wen?  How was it?

One thought on “Wen . . . The controversy

  1. My grandmother practically forced my brother and I to use it. I stopped using Wen after two weeks (I ran out) because I felt like there was something wrong with it, but I just couldn’t put my finger on it. My brother used it for two years. I have lines of slight baldness throughout my hair, and a few spots with very thin hair. My brother? His hair is extremely frizzy, so I can’t see what goes on down there, but I suppose it’s worse. Wen just wasn’t working for me, it made my hair feel weird and it didn’t even smell that good. The scent washed out, but I was spending so much time in the shower trying to get rid of it. I remember brushing my hair, and finding that there was still conditioner in it. It stuck in my hair and never got out for a long time. I switched and ran it out with so much shampoo. It felt amazing to rid myself of that disgusting Wen! My grandmother was wrong, after all.

Leave a Reply

